home news live bio music merchandise mailing list contact  

Down to the bone. Official site of the funk, soul, jazz band.

latest news

Down To The Bone Presents their new album The Main Ingredients

Released in summer 2011 on:

Dome Records (UK/EU/South Africa/Australia/New Zealand) JUNE 20TH

Trippin’n Rhythm Records(US/Canada) JULY 19TH

P-vine Records (Japan) JULY 20TH

From the Grammy nominated band comes Down To The Bone’s 9th album.

Having sold over 500,000 copies throughout the bands previous releases Stuart Wade (the band’s creator, director, producer and main man) has come together with an array of top musicians to produce the latest offering “The Main Ingredients”. 10 tracks of jazz/funk fuel injected tracks with subtle touches of soul to tempt any fans of the good groove.

The album consists of such talented musicians as long term main stays such as Neil Angilley - Keyboards and co-writer, who is also keyboardist for Snowboy and his Latin Section, Julian Crampton, once part of the Incognito live band and also bassist for Joey Negro’s Sunburst Band, Tim Smart - trombone, who is also lead trombonist in the re-formed Specials live band and part of Robin Jones and King Salsa. Together with new additions such as Davide Giovannini on drums, also drummer for Snowboy, Mark Jaimes on guitar who was the guitarist for Simply Red, Alex Bennett - keyboards, also part of the Sunburst Band, Oli Silk, keyboards and co-writer and solo artist in his own name. Joe Beckett - percussion, also having worked with Paul Weller and Spandau Ballet. Trumpet - Ryan Jacobs, also trumpeter for Alice Russell. Tom Richards - sax also saxophonist for Jaime Cullum. Also special guest vocalist Imaani having also worked with Incognito and more recently Real People. Amongst other great musicians on this album.

Just over a year in the making, it is a labour of love for Stuart, a non musician himself but who “hums” melodies and communicates his ideas to the musicians when writing the tracks, whilst also co-writing with others.

Having been brought up on a diet of old school soul/jazz such as Barry White, MFSB, Herbie Mann and Brazilian grooves such as George Duke, Deodato and Sergio Mendes via his parent’s listening habits. Stuart has a vast list of such musicians and bands who have influenced him. From the likes of Charles Stepney, Lonnie Liston Smith, Roy Ayers, with whom he has had as guest on the last two albums “Supercharged” and &ldquoi;Future Boogie” to others more recent acts such as The Rebirth, New Master Sounds and Incognito. Hopefully, Wade feels he is able to inject portions of this melting pot of influences together with touches of his own style to create the sound which is Down To The Bone and its latest album.

Musicians involved:
Percussion - Joe “Bongo” Becket
Bass - Julian Crampton
Guitar - Mark Jaimes
Drums - Davide Giovannini
Drums - Phil Nelson on “Cut and Run”
Drums - Adam Riley on “Together We Stand”
Keys - Neil Angilley all except, Oli Silk on “Watch Me Fly”,
“Music Is The Key” and “South Side Overdrive”, Alex
Bennett on “A Universal Vibe”, synth - Neil Burditt on
“Cut and Run”.
Trombone - Tim Smart
Trumpet - Ryan Jacob
Sax - Tom Richards
Sax - Jim Knight on “Closer” and “Watch Me Fly”
Vocals - Imaani - vocals

14/12/010 – New label signing in the US & Canada!

Down To The Bone is happy to announce that it has just signed to Trippin ‘N’ Rhythm Records for the US and Canada.

The new album, yet to be titled, is currently being put together and should be ready for release early 2011.

People involved with me, in the production, so far are…

Julian Crampton - bass
Davide Giovannini - drums
Neil Angilley - keys
Alex Bennett - keys
Oli Silk - keys
Joe Becket -€“ Percussion
Imaani Saleem - vocals
Mark Jaimes - guitar
Ian Crabtree - guitar
Richard Sadler - engineering/programming
Stuart Wade - engineering/programming/producer

A few new live gigs are in the pipeline so keep checking the “live” page for updates.

More news as it comes in.

older news
The Main Ingredients
03/03/09 - New Album!
23/08/08 - Forthcoming LIVE Dates!
27/11/07 - News Update
10/08/07 - *** LIVE NEWS ***
17/04/07 - New Album - Supercharged
20/12/06 - New LP Best of DTTB
08/06/05 - LP gets great feedback
08/06/05 - 12" Vinyl Remix Due Soon
11/04/05 - DTTB finish 6th album - Spread Love Like Wildfire
11/04/05 - The Inspiration behind Spread Love Like Wildfire
23/08/04 - New Album Takes Shape
12/05/04 - Exclusive Remix Package
22/03/04 - New LP Cellar Funk out now!